The possession of small quantities of cannabis is not a legal offense in New Mexico as a brand new marijuana decriminalization legislation that was signed by the governor within the Spring went into impact on July 1.
In April, Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham signed SB323, a cannabis decriminalization invoice which handed the Home 44-20 and the Senate with a 30-Eight vote.
Beneath the brand new legislation, an individual caught with as much as one-half ounce of cannabis shall be issued a penalty evaluation and a $50 advantageous.
Possession of as much as a full ounce is now thought-about a petty misdemeanor and comes with a advantageous of as much as $100 and as much as fifteen days in jail for first-time offenses.
However the New Mexico cannabis practice isn’t going to be staying at decriminalization station for lengthy as Governor Grisham plans to start working towards bringing adult-use marijuana to the state.
Grisham, who integrated cannabis legalization as a platform throughout her marketing campaign, plans to deliver the problem into the 2020 legislative season.
“I need New Mexico’s introduction and administration of leisure cannabis to be the envy of the nation,” mentioned Grisham in an announcement. “We will and can incorporate classes realized from different states in order that New Mexico offers for a well-regulated trade that, crucially, doesn’t infringe on or hurt our increasing medical cannabis program, upon which so many New Mexicans rely.”
Grisham introduced on Friday that she is assembling the Hashish Legalization Working Group to review legalization efforts in different states to assist be certain that New Mexico implements protected legalization insurance policies.
Governor Grisham says that the group will reply questions on how legalization can work greatest for New Mexico and incorporate public security considerations, office laws, and labeling necessities to assist forestall underage consumption.